Where’s the joy?

This blogging thing has become pretty popular over the years, and I think it can be used in such a unique way to share what is going on in life.  Sometimes it is just easier to write thoughts out.  First of all, so you don’t forget.  And secondly, so that others can take the time to read and (hopefully!) join in with you through the excitement, joy, pain, or whatever. 🙂 Many of you have been following along in our family’s adventure…of learning that both of my nephews have a very rare genetic disease that does not have a cure at this point (except the powerful healing hand of God!) And my lovely sister-in-law, Bekers (as I affectionately call her…and she, me) has written God inspired blogs to share that journey that they are on as a family.  And it is amazing the response that she has had through her blogs. They stir up powerful emotions when we read them.  (if you haven’t read them, please do!  www.youcantstealmyjoy.wordpress.com) I think so many of us are drawn emotionally to this story of Titus and Ely because we all want something.  And I think that something is joy.  (ok…maybe we want a couple other things too, like hope and peace)  We want to know how to have joy (and hope and peace) in the midst of life and all of the incredibly difficult things that come our way.   I want my blogs to be inspired by God.  And I want them to be written out of the many truths that God has been revealing to me as our family perseveres through trial and as He continues to love me and show himself to me.  Will you eucharisteo with me? This word “eucharisteo” probably seems like greek to you.  Oh, that’s because it is. 🙂  So, not to bore you too much…I’ll just tell you that if you break the word up into it’s parts, the definition we come up with for “eucharisteo” means “grace, joy, and thanksgiving.” (there, see. that’s not too boring).   Jesus gave thanks A LOT and as he gave thanks to God for everything, miracles happened.  God’s presence was seen and felt. I have asthma right now that is really bothersome.  So, I’m taking an inhaler. The temperature outside is very hot, so I’m doing my best to keep the chickens and the garden (and my family) alive! My nephews have a disease that has no cure….Titus is blind and can’t walk or talk.  I wish so much that he could see me and I hope he knows that his Aunty Bekah loves him. I wish he could see his cousin Colby and play with him. 😦 My husband and I are waiting on test results to see if we may carry this bad gene…..to make sure that our son Colby is safe. We are tight financially so we keep working away, trusting God to provide. My favorite chicken was carried off and killed by something. My son keeps getting constipated so I give him more fiber, water, milk of magnesia. There are so many things in my everyday happenings that I don’t really have any control of.  I’ve come to the realization that my life is not my own.  It really isn’t.  Every aspect of my life is God’s.  At first thought, this makes me feel kinda alone.  And out of control.  I don’t control what happens to me.  Is God sitting back halfheartedly watching me? Does he really care?  Am I left alone to try and fight through and have happy thoughts and fix things on my own power? Goodness NO!  🙂   This idea that God abandons us when “bad” things happen is far (times 1000) from the truth!  God is present. God is good.  God is giving comfort.  God is in control.  God works ALL things out for good.  Good, as in better then what we could come up with!  So…..the number one question is….why do bad things happen?  Why do I not feel God with me when darkness surrounds me? Where is the joy?  Maybe it’s because I’m not looking for him.  This world is broken, but why am I always focused on the broken?  Why do I let the broken become bigger then the good, bigger then the whole, bigger then the blessings?  How do I set my eyes on seeing God’s face?  Well, you know what Jesus did right before he was going to be hung on a cross to bear all of the emotional and physical weight of sin upon him?  He gave thanks.  He broke the bread and drank the wine.  And gave thanks!  Then the miracle happened.  Sin and death was defeated when Christ rose from the grave and forgave our sins! Woo!!!  (ok…that is mind blowing to me!)  So….if I give thanks for all things at all times, I can’t help but see God’s face in everything.  Eucharisteo.  Because he is there….I just have to want to see him and seek him and long to be with him. He is caring. He is present. He is powerful. He is NOT leaving us to face life on our own.  We can’t believe this for an instant. He loves us.

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.  Then you will experience God’s preace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.  -Philippians 4:6-7

Thanks for reading. – Bek

3 thoughts on “Where’s the joy?

  1. Sometimes I think we confuse happiness for joy. Happiness is fleeting and dependent upon circumstances. Joy is deep and abiding, dependent upon our God- a gift of the Spirit. It is ours if we look for Him in whatever happens to us and around us. It is His promise to us- to me. Where would I be without it? Where do I find it? I found mind in the midst of my personal agony of spirit when He came flooding in and made that time bearable. Thank you, Jesus, for this indescribable gift.

    Like

  2. What an honest, heartfelt blog. You don’t know me, but I kind of know you in that I’ve heard Bekah and Danny refer to you, your husband and Colby so many times. When Bekah and Danny lived in Bourbonnais, they, along with the boys, became my family in my heart. I kept Titus when they got in a pinch and I worked with Bekah for a while at the church, so I fell in love with Titus when he was just six weeks old. We had our own song, our own little stories and he pulled some really funny tricks on me. It broke my heart to tell them all goodbye when they moved. Anyway, I have been praying for you, your husband, Colby and your entire family for it seems like a long time and I will continue to do so with love and respect for the precious, amazing family you all are. What an honor to know you, even if I just “kind of” know you:)

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your message! Danny and bek have told me so much of you too. 🙂 I’m so glad you love them as family. Thank you for your prayers and support for our family. It’s amazing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

